- Municipal Court
- Ticket / Citation
- Dismissal Information
Expired Driver's License or Motor Vehicle Registration
You may be eligible to have a citation for these violations dismissed. To have a citation for expired driver's license or expired motor vehicle registration dismissed, you must:
- Appear in court within 10 calendar days from receipt of citation
- Have the violation corrected and provide proof of that to the court
- Proof of correction for Expired Registration must show that a 20% penalty was paid to the Department of Motor Vehicles at the time the registration was renewed. If the penalty is not paid, the Municipal Court cannot dismiss the citation.
- Pay a $20 dismissal fee
No Insurance (Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility)
If you have been charged with Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility (No insurance), you must appear in Municipal Court on or before your appearance date to do one of the following:
- If you have insurance, you must present a valid insurance card or policy which was in effect at the date and time of your offense. Upon verification of insurance coverage, your citation will be presented to the Judge for review and a decision will be made about dismissal. The insurance agency will be contacted by telephone to verify coverage. You may provide proof of insurance, by mail, fax, email or in person.
- If you cannot show valid proof of insurance, you must pay the fine or request a court date to speak with the Judge about your citation. Payment of the fine will result in a conviction on your driving record that will be reported to the State.
Each conviction for this offense will result in the assessment of an annual surcharge of $250 (for three consecutive years) by the State under the Driver Responsibility Act (T.C. 708.105).
Texas Motor Vehicle Safety Responsibility Act
In addition, a second or subsequent conviction of this offense under the Texas Motor Vehicle Safety Responsibility Act will result in the suspension of your driver's license and motor vehicle registration unless you file and maintain proof of financial responsibility with the Department of Public Safety for 2 years following the date of conviction. DPS may waive this requirement if you file satisfactory evidence with DPS showing that at the time the citation was issued, the vehicle was indeed covered by a motor vehicle insurance polity, or that you were otherwise exempt from the requirements to provide proof of financial responsibility.